Featured Artist : Cande Aguilar

20 questions to featured artist Cande Aguilar.  www.candeart.com

1: Who are you? 

Cande Aguilar          

2: What is your background? 

I grew up as a musician playing the accordion in a Texas regional music genre known as Conjunto music. 

3: Where were you born? 

Born in Brownsville Texas 

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words. 

My work is an amalgamation sprung up by characters, colors & street phenomena that is my life immersed in popular border town culture; expressed through multimedia such as painting, image transfer, collage, assemblage, video and music. 

5: How has your practice changed over time? 

My practice hasn’t changed much other then scale, I recently started making smaller work. 

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in? 

My favorite medium is multimedia painting oil, acrylic, fabric paints, spray paint, oil sticks, ink markers, permanent markers, solid markers, with image transfer on panel. 

7: Do you pursue any themes? 

If so what? I mostly pursue abstraction because its wide open its what makes me feel the most free. 

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist? 

I briefly worked at a local cemetery watering the grass between the hours of 12:00 & 5:00 am back in 2002, but I always kept my eye on the ball and was able to overcome by believing in my art. 

9: What research do you do for your art? 

I am constantly looking, I particuly like going through Instagram, there is so much art and imagery from so many cultures. 

10: What makes you angry? 

I get pissed when i see healthy people parking in spaces reserved for disabled people. 

11: What is your favourite colour? 

My favorite color is light tan. 

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced? 

My favorite piece that I’ve produced is Past the Shock. 

13: What music/album are you currently listening to? 

Blue & Lonesome by the Rolling Stones. 

14: What makes you happy? 

I find my happiness in my family. 

15: What are your favourite films? 

Star Wars and all the Wes Anderson movies 

16: Favourite place? 

My favorite place is my home. 

17: One or more artists you like? 

Cy Twombly, Robert Rauschenberg, and Miles Davis 

18: What is your favourite word? 

My favorite word is CULTURE 

19: Professionally what is your goal? 

My goal as a professional artist is to make it into the major art collections of the world. 

20: What would your dream commission be? 

My dream commission is to make a piece for a major museum.

Past the Shock_2008_mixed media on panel_ 96x240inches. Image courtesy of the artist.
Leave a Reply

