Featured Artist: Steven Heaton.

20 questions to featured artist Steven Heaton.

1: Who are you? Steven Heaton.

2: What is your background? Art school dropout. Terrible graphic designer.

3: Where were you born? Leigh, Lancashire. (North of nowhere)

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words. Through the application of layered paint, it is what I choose to add and remove that  leaves a history on the canvas of conscious decisions, slowly built over time from memories, interactions within the environment and dialogue with myself about where I am, where I have been and where I find myself.

Revelations often occur hidden beneath the surface – it is only through this struggle and my determination to keep painting that I can understand myself and why I paint. Exploring uncertainty and the permanence of memory, my work is a transient and somewhat fragile interpretation of what we perceive as ourselves, our life and our consciousness.

5: How has your practice changed over time? My work has always been time.

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in? Oil, acrylic, gesso, emulsion paints and time.

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what? Time, memories, natures dominance over human interaction.

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist? Director of Cross Street Arts.

9: What research do you do for your art? I read everything.

10: What makes you angry? Ignorance.

11: What is your favourite colour? Teal.

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced? Always the one I’m currently working on.

13: What music/album are you currently listening to? Stasis by Pye Corner Audio (Ghostbox records)

14: What makes you happy? Colour, fields, birds, barn doors, street signs and telegraph posts.

15: What are your favourite films? Alice in the cities.

16: Favourite place? Ambleside (Cumbria)

17: One or more artists you like?

Peter Lanyon.

John Hoyland.

Roger Hilton.

Anthony Frost.

Gerhard Richter.

Anselm Kiefer.

The list is endless really.

18: What is your favourite word? Silence.

19: Professionally what is your goal? Just to be able to afford to keep painting.

20: What would your dream commission be? My work used by somebody who likes my work.

http://www.stevenheaton.com

@steven_heaton

Image courtesy of the artist
Leave a Reply

