Featured Artist : Philippe Haluburda

20 Questions to Phillippe Haluburda (http://www.halaburda.com).

1: Who are you? Philippe Halaburda

2: What is your background? Graphic design studies in Paris

3: Where were you born? Meaux, France

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words. When I begin a new painting, I never know what will be my creative composition. I discover it along the way and I put myself in danger, out of balance, keeping my mind opened: I always start by painting several canvases simultaneously to further accentuate this state. They define themselves by their dominant colors, the distribution of space, and even in the first brush stroke.

5: How has your practice changed over time? Since many years, he has developed his own pictural and textual language, always in movement and evolving. It comes to interior and exterior, orientation, respective positions of the objects and human in space, of self and otherness. At the beginning, my style was more figurative. It became abstract with the years. My compositions are now fragmented, tectonic, in fragile balance, with bright colors such as those used for geological surveys and the establishment of maps
6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in? Acrylic because it drys fast
7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what? I fix my thoughts flow using lines, shapes, signs and codes. One can also think of imaginary landscapes that illustrate this and are freed of physical laws: gravitation, levitation, balances, trajectories, order… I call that: “mental topography”, a way to design new alphabet, to develop a full-fledged language with a unique writing, original and lively. I make that everyday on any type of mediums.

 8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist? Artistic director as freelance

9: What research do you do for your art? I have developed his own pictural and textual language, always in movement and evolving. It comes to interior and exterior, orientation, respective positions of the objects and human in space, of self and otherness. 
10: What makes you angry? Human nature
11: What is your favourite colour? All

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced? The next one
13: What music/album are you currently listening to? Beach House, Depression Cherry
14: What makes you happy? Being surprised, spontaneous, free in my mind
15: What are your favourite films? Breaking the waves, Lars von Trier
16: Favourite place? New York & Krabi islands, Thailand
17: One or more artists you like? Jean Michel Basquiat, Joan Mitchell
18: What is your favourite word? White
19: Professionally what is your goal? To be a professional artist before my death
20: What would your dream commission be? A wall painting in front of the Eiffel Tower 

Image Courtesy of the Artist.
One thought on “Featured Artist : Philippe Haluburda

Leave a Reply

