Featured Artist : Jennifer Turnage

20 Questions to Jennifer Turnage (www.jenniferturnageart.simple.com)

1: Who are you?
A quirky introvert on a quest for knowledge and peace…and to pet an owl some day

2: What is your background?
As most backgrounds are mine is a mixed bag. Looking back at it, never really fitting in as I was growing up but still pretending to really stunted my progress as a person. Sure it’s what we all do but it’s still tragic. After I realized who I was and who I wanted to be art became a mission. I worked my butt off to create a portfolio and applied for Memphis College of Art in 2004. There I studied sculpture, ceramics, and a smidgen of painting under amazing professors. 

3: Where were you born?
Centralia Illinois. Don’t be jealous. 

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words.
I create work like people think about their day. You make a rough outline and plan but things never work out the way they’re supposed to. Adaptation, experimentation, reflection, and the freedom to fail become an important process while I paint. .   

5: How has your practice changed over time?
Allowing myself to feel comfortable with making art that I know doesn’t blend in was a huge hurdle. Once I embraced my line, shape, color, and composition as a component of who I am I became able to paint like the way I live. 

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in?
Currently it’s acrylic paint It’s available and forgiving.   
 

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what?
Normally, no. However, right now I’m knocking out a series of small paintings all designed around bacteria growing in petri dishes. It’s sort of an experiment to watch how each painting directly influences the other. I gave myself a quota of 65. I’m only on 13.

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist?
I’ve managed people and places and served people and places. All have played a major role in who I am today.

9: What research do you do for your art?
As a girl on the go I rely strongly on the internet and social media. Truth be told museums are my best friend.

10: What makes you angry?
Intolerance, bigotry, and a lack of sympathy. In real time though…my vacuum keeps whistling and won’t suck up the cat hair.

11: What is your favourite colour?
Can I say all of them? All of them. Every single one.

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced?
There was a piece a few years ago that I tried to make to appeal to the art market. It felt wrong even making it. Halfway through I scraped it all off and went banana sandwiches with color and what not. That was my favorite. 

13: What music/album are you currently listening to?
The Books. Lost and Safe. 

14: What makes you happy?
I like catching moments of genuine human kindness. No matter how big or small. It’s harder to find then it should be. 

15: What are your favourite films?
I’ll name five for this may go on longer than people care to read. The Big Lebowski, The Life Aquatic, Shawshank Redemption, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Ghostbusters.  

16: Favourite place?
The entire state of Colorado

17: One or more artists you like?
Ah. So many. Ruth Root, Kiki Smith, Dan Flavin, Robert Motherwell, Cao Hui, Louise Bourgeois,Cy Twombly, David Hockney, George Condo, Ron Nagle, I could go on and on.

18: What is your favourite word?
wiener schnitzel

19: Professionally what is your goal?
I think all artists dream about making a living from their work. I know I certainly do.

20: What would your dream commission be?
Anything that would pay off my student loans.

  

Image Courtesy of the Artist
Leave a Reply

