Featured Artist: Christophe Baudson

20 Questions to Christophe Baudson (www.christophebaudson.com)

1: Who are you? 

My name is Christophe Baudson. I am a painter and I am French.

2: What is your background? 

I attended art school in Strasbourg and have a degree in Art History.

2: What is your background? 

I was born in Longwy, in the east of France.

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words. 

That is a tough question: my work is mostly abstract, colour-filled paintings with, at times, a glitch of imperfection. I am using simple shapes – mainly circles, lines and curves in order to develop a strongly positive and joyful work for the viewer.

5: How has your practice changed over time? 

At the beginning I was predominantly interested in working on paper with felt pens and pencils, oil and acrylic paint in an endeavour to blend the abstract and the figurative together. However, all this was far too ambitious and didn’t lead anywhere interesting for me, so I decided to concentrate on the abstract work on canvas. 

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in? 

Not really – I use both acrylic and oil paint.

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what? 

Mostly colours, dynamic and texture combination

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist? 

I have done lots of different jobs, from kitchen Chef to Dj… at the moment I am doing art workshops with schoolchildren.

9: What research do you do for your art? 

I read a lot – particularly books on history and philosophy. I am very attentive to all the colours around me.

10: What makes you angry? 

Inefficiency.

11: What is your favourite colour? 

Fluorescent orange.

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced? 

I am never fully satisfied but if I have to choose I’d say one of my latest paintings: P.A.F.S. / B.I.K. – 2014 – 150 cm x 150 cm – acrylic on canvas.

13: What music/album are you currently listening to? 

I am listening a lot to Quasimoto’s Yessir whatever! (2014)

14: What makes you happy? 

A glass of nice Bordeaux wine

15: What are your favourite films? 

La Grande Frousse by Jean-Pierre Mocky (1964)

16: Favourite place? 

Berlin , Germany

17: One or more artists you like? 

Claude Tétot, Nicholas Krushenick, Trudy Benson

18: What is your favourite word? 

Sun

 19: Professionally what is your goal? 

To work with a great gallery

 20: What would your dream commission be?

To have a joint exhibition with David Hockney.

P.A.F.S. / B.I.K. – 2014 – 150 cm x 150 cm – acrylic on canvas. Image courtesy and copyright of the artist.
One thought on “Featured Artist: Christophe Baudson

Leave a Reply

