Featured Artist : Rusudan Khizanishvili

20 Questions to Rusudan Khizanishvili (www.crawlingborder.com and http://www.saatchiart.com/rusa)

1: Who are you?

My name is Rusudan Khizanishvili (maiden name Gobejishvili) I am from Georgia,Tbilisi,And I am an Artist smile emoticon

2: What is your background?

I was born 1979 and since 9 years old I paint,as usual all of children ..Graduating with a painting degree from the J.Nikoladze Art College and then Tbilisi state Academy of Art,I went on to complete an MA in Media in 2005.

3: Where were you born?

I was born in Russian Federation and I live in Georgia,Tbilisi from 1992 years.

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words

“If the true skill of an artist lies in their ability to work outside their chosen style, then Rusudan Khizanishvili has proven herself to be extremely competent. By using, adapting and merging a variety of styles the artist has created a portfolio that should greatly impress any viewer. She paints aching portraits that stare out at you with questioning eyes, crafted in expressive thick oil applied with vigour. Yellow figures leave, or run from, disjointed rooms. The perspectives are painted out of synch which gives the work an intense and unnerving atmosphere. In other pictures landscapes are robbed of their assurance by a think, hazy layer or mist which cloaks them with doubt and robs them of the familiarity usually present in the physical world.” I can add that I am completely agree with it smile emoticon

5: How has your practice changed over time?

 I can say that it is happening not very fast..actually I work with it and always try to use some new technique and fresh ideas..

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in?

Yes I do,now days I prefer to use acrilyc on canvas,before it was oil on canvas.

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what?

I can say that today I prefer to paint some fantastic themes with non-real animals between dogs and wolfs, deers and humans:) I like to use the rock paintings motives ,but I do not know what will be tomorrow smile emoticon

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist?

Nothing expect ART, once I had a job – I was an art teacher in the school,but it was very hard experience for me, because it takes a lot of time and power smile emoticon

9: What research do you do for your art?

This year I representedmy country Georgia with some artists team ,Georgia on the 56th Venice Art Biennale, Georgian National Pavilion ,you can see it here http://www.crawlingborder.com
Crawling Border

CRAWLING BORDER is the reality, which Georgia and other post-Soviet countries are confronted with and which owes its existence to the country’s geopolitical position. Georgia’s pavilion aims to highlight this reality to a maximum extent and to make a certain intervention in one of the most important…

crawlingborder.com

10: What makes you angry?

Actually I am not getting angry fast, maybe if I do not like my painting …In general I fell happy myself:)

11: What is your favourite colour?

It is quite difficult question, I like almost all of paint,but do not use them together smile emoticon Well, my answer is white ,blue,and green….maybe black and red as well…

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced?

Which I have done a few days ago – Roman Bath smile emoticon

13: What music/album are you currently listening to?

Dead Can Dance – Anabasis and Joceline Pook – Goya’s Nightmare and some others

14: What makes you happy?

I said I feel happy myself 😊 Especially when I work..

15: What are your favourite films?

Again difficult one, because I am some kind cinephile smile emoticon I can writeh my favourite filmmakers-Pasolini,Visconti,Kubrick,Allen,Bertolucci,Almodovar etc….

16: Favourite place?

For living I think Spain ..

17: One or more artists you like?

Baselitz,Richter,Rembrandt,De Kooning,Tapies,Matiss,Schnabel,Sierra,Nolde,Bonnard etc

18: What is your favourite word?

Life is a battle

19: Professionally what is your goal?

To reach self-perfection
20: What would your dream commission be?
Have no idea , If I would live in the Middle Age I would say to paint some church :)) To get the order from Pope … But now is different time and only one thing – I would like to be exhibited in some famous galleries and museums:)

Image Courtesy of the Artist
Leave a Reply

