Featured Artist : Ruth Hiller

20 Questions to Ruth Hiller (www.ruthhiller.com)

1: Who are you? 

My name is Ruth Hiller

2: What is your background?

 I have a BFA in design and started my career working for Milton Glaser as a designer. When I decided I wanted to be a painter instead, I assisted Ron Gorchov in the late 80’s.

3: Where were you born?

I was born in Emmetsburg, Iowa

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words.

Soft-Geometry. I paint on softly shaped geometric panels that invoke industrialized nature and my environment. I am interested in color, material, speed and technology

5: How has your practice changed over time?

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become even more excited about my work

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in?

I work in encaustic and recently acrylic. I attended the Golden Foundation Residency last summer, which was an educational residency. 

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what?

My themes are geometric and color based

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist? I was a personal trainer for 20 years. I was able to retire 8 years ago and paint full time.

9: What research do you do for your art?

I go to a lot of shows and take lots of pictures of things in my environment.

10: What makes you angry? 

People on cell phones blocking the entrance to so,we here I want to go. And all the things we throw away.

11: What is your favourite colour?

Cadmium red light

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced?

Recently I am happy with Skew 2.3

13: What music/album are you currently listening to?

I listen to Pandora, Rdio or talk shows

14: What makes you happy? 

Being outside with my dog and friends. Being in NYC and on the street early morning.  

15: What are your favourite films?

Pulp Fiction, Shawshank Redemption, Django

16: Favourite place?

In the Colorado mountains on a powder day

17: One or more artists you like?

Ursula Von Rydinsvard, Roberto Juarez,

18: What is your favourite word?

Fabulous

19: Professionally what is your goal?

My goal is To be collected by museums and institutions while having great gallery representation.

20: What would your dream commission be?

To create an environment at MoMA.

Image Courtesy of Ruth Hiller

Image details:

Skew 2.3

2015

Acrylic polymers on plexiglass

30 x 28 inches

Leave a Reply

