Featured Artist : Steven Kenny 

20 Questions to Steven Kenny (www.stevenkenny.com)

1: Who are you?

A 52-year old boy who is slowly, methodically maturing into a man.

2: What is your background?

Grew up in a middle-class family with three older brothers. Attended Catholic school from kindergarten through eighth grade. Graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design. From there I went on to be a freelance illustrator for 13 years before shifting entirely to fine art.

3: Where were you born?

Peekskill, New York in the Hudson Valley. Ironically, I was completely unaware of the Hudson River School of painters until I went away to art school.

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words.

My style is often reminiscent of the Old Masters but my subject matter is a contemporary commentary on what it means to be human.

5: How has your practice changed over time?

Much more intuitive now. I’ve grown to trust my instincts and rely less on planning each composition. I give my unconscious free reign (almost). 

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in?

Oil on canvas, linen or panel.

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what?

The blending of the human figure with elements from nature allows me to comment on our unseen internal psychological, emotional and intellectual landscapes.

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist?

Waiter, dishwasher, sales executive, gallery director, golf course pro shop attendant.

9: What research do you do for your art?

Research would involve planning and, like I said above, I try to avoid planning too much. It makes my work stiff. I prefer a more indirect type of research which includes studying art history, psychology, a little philosophy, etc.

10: What makes you angry?

Narrow-minded critics who ridicule art that they don’t understand.

11: What is your favourite colour?

Usually green.

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced?

A self portrait as Satan painted when I was very angry. It is probably the most honest painting I’ve ever done.

13: What music/album are you currently listening to?

I think the last CD I listened to was Thick As A Brick by Jethro Tull.

14: What makes you happy?

Looking at my wife’s smiling face.

15: What are your favourite films? 

I love anything by Ingmar Bergman and Werner Herzog. Guilty pleasures include watching the Lord of the Rings and Hobbit trilogies. 

16: Favourite place?
Here in St Petersburg, Florida. But you can take me back to Paris or Rome at any time and I won’t complain.

17: One or more artists you like?

So Many!!! Peter Doig, Rembrandt, Tracey Emin, Gustav Moreau, Redon, Koons, William Blake, etc, etc.

18: What is your favourite word?

Wonder.

19: Professionally what is your goal?

To be free to create my work and live comfortably from the sales. No desire for fame or riches.

20: What would your dream commission be?

A giant, unending scroll that I would continually paint from left to right. Sounds a bit nightmarish now that I say it, though.

  

“The Ribbons”, oil on canvas, 40 x 28 inches. (Image Courtesy of Steven Kenny)
Leave a Reply

