Featured Artist : Adrian Mills

20 Questions to Adrian Mills (http://adrianmillsillustration.blogspot.co.uk)

1: Who are you?

Oh hello , I’m adrian mills and I’m a artist and draw children’s books and lots of bears.

2: What is your background?

I started a long time ago in graphic design (bc) in rugby , before computers in which I learn to draw freehand and the lay out of how’s things fitted on the page.After a break (a morning postman) I went to learn foundation in Hastings before going to a BA(hons) in fine art in Sunderland and finally going to do a Masters in children book illustration in Cambridge . So a lot of studying in all areas of art 

3: Where were you born?

Very near Birmingham the same hospital as Robert plant !!

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words.

I try to get depth and atmosphere in my work .To capture the moment In as many lines as possible and have feelings in my world for everyone to enjoy.

5: How has your practice changed over time?

I started as I said in graphic design to now illustrations .But one thing that has stayed is the colours.I did learn a lot doing my drawing a day project and learned to work with different medias and learn to draw first.

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in?

When I did a lot of painting I enjoyed the smell and freedom of using oil paints .These days I use dr martins inks and a good pen .

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what?

I like doing a series of the first image is good .At the moment I am doing a series of bears hugging things .

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist?

I am presently a support worker /care worker in which I do enjoy as well as trying to be a full time artist .

 

9: What research do you do for your art?

My work comes from different areas .i do like drawing from the spot as getting the line right for the first time .I did enjoy doing my drawing a day project in which I did draw for a year every day .This research was on the fly as I did sometime that caught my eye on the day in question.

  

10: What makes you angry?

The government at the moment and the way that people can’t see what really going on.

11: What is your favourite colour?

Orange I think ?

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced?

Now that’s a good question, I think when I do a piece it’s the best piece of work that I have done ,till the next.

13: What music/album are you currently listening to?

I did listen to music when I draw and do like listening to chill.radio .it depends on the art I am doing so I go for mood of the drawing if it’s sad .art and music are very linked in .

14: What makes you happy?

Drawing and a good picnic either by the sea or in a wood.

15: What are your favourite films?

I am a child from the 70s so it has to be star wars flims .i do enjoy the Pixar flims for research ,but always enjoy the story and the movement .

16: Favourite place?

I do enjoy Paris and big city’s as I enjoy the buzz and drawing the crowds as I like in a small village.

17: One or more artists you like?

I am always interested in seeing new artists on Pinterest and different social medias .Seeing them develop as artists and the joy they bring as their styles change .

I do admire shaun tan as I always think his work is so lovely and the stories that he writes .

I also like Oliver Jeffers as he has done so well and his stories as so amazing .

18: What is your favourite word?

Two words that link in well together 
“How Marvellous”

19: Professionally what is your goal?

To be a full time children’s book illustrator and author and meet lots of marvellous people on the way .i have always thought that leaving something behind so people can enjoy is the only way.

20: What would your dream commission be?

I would like to work on a Pixar films but what I would like is to work on murals on walls in hospitals /public spaces for everyone to enjoy.

http://creativepool.com/adrianmills

LinkedIn://www.linkedin.com/pub/Adrian-millsarts/28/293/b02

twitter.com/adrianmillsarts
http://adrianmillsillustration.blogspot.co.uk

  

Leave a Reply

