Featured Artist : Rod McIntosh

20 Questions For Rod McIntosh 

(www.rodmcintosh.co.uk or http://www.dawltonbarn.co.uk)

1: Who are you?

My name is Rod McIntosh, and I am a full-time artist. 

2: What is your background?

I trained as a sculptor and worked for many years successfully as a sculptor working in education and with the community. I worked at Yorkshire Sculpture Park and some of the big galleries in London.

3: Where were you born?

I was born in Singapore, a Forces child. Travel and experiencing different cultures were influential at a young age.

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words.

Drawing and paintings were the marks are within the surface of ground. Like cave paintings or tattoos the pigment becomes a part of the form rather than sit upon the surface. Materials, process and my tools are important to me.

5: How has your practice changed over time?

I made figurative sculptures with a socio-antrhopological medical starting point. Depicting narratives of physical illness and wellness.

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in?

I love my black indian ink.

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what?

The enso/zen circle – creating a circle or part circle with a single continuous stroke with the breath is a discipline I attend to regularly in the studio and influences my compositions and thoughts to making work.

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist?

As well as running workshops in schools and the community, I worked for a health authority as a Healy Promotion Officer. I was the first Director of an arts charity The Florence Trust and I lectured at University.

9: What research do you do for your art?

Read, visit, talk, write, sketch, photograph. Specific research is driven through by an academic approach to deepening knowledge or understanding and forming an opinion. However work has also developed from seeing a shadow get cast momentarily across the ground, or being in the landscape. So seeing opportunities under our feet is as important to me as the intellectual rigour to my work.

10: What makes you angry?

Rudeness

11: What is your favourite colour?

Blue

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced?

It was not a piece that exists now as it got damaged in the mounting process. But my first large 3metre ink painting on mulberry from my glass plate floor. I made possible what I had imagined.

13: What music/album are you currently listening to?

Classic FM or Radio 3 is on the radio in the studio.

14: What makes you happy?

A walk with the dog to my pond to watch nature at its best or to go somewhere where I can see a huge horizon.

15: What are your favourite films?

I enjoy escaping in a bit of science fiction.

16: Favourite place?

Up a mountain! looking at a widescreen horizon and feeling everything I might be concerned about is tiny in the scheme of things.

17: One or more artists you like?

Pierre Soulages for his unapologetic use of black!

18: What is your favourite word?

Gestural 

19: Professionally what is your goal?

I would love to work towards a solo show a year in a great space, a gallery or museum with an international reputation.

20: What would your dream commission be?

To paint for the Dali Lama

Image Courtesy of Rod McIntosh.
Leave a Reply

