Featured Artist : Susan Lee Brown

20 Questions to Susan Lee Brown (http://www.dot-art.co.uk/artist/susan-lee-brown).
 

1: Who are you? 

Susan Lee Brown

2: What is your background? 

I am an American artist living in the United Kingdom. I have lived here for 37 years. I have some fine art education (University of California Fullerton)and am currently listed in Who’s Who in Art.

3: Where were you born? 

Philadelphia Pennsylvania, U.S.A.

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words.

I paint in oils but am now mainly a print maker. I work in Drypoint, lino, and wood with some etchings from time to time.

 
5: How has your practice changed over time? I now do the work I enjoy as opposed to purely commercial work. I am colour blind which is getting far worse as I get older so my printing is now mainly monochrome or tonal.

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in? 

I really enjoy Drypoint etching as I can work directly on the plate with no messing around with acids.

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what? 

In my painting I am known for children on the beach. My prints are usually animal based.

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist?

I teach Antiques and collectibles in adult education. I run workshops for puppet making for schools and museums/galleries. 

9: What research do you do for your art? 

Loads

10: What makes you angry? 

Artists who make ‘instant’ pictures which lead the buying public to think that there isn’t much input in art work.

11: What is your favourite colour? 
Green. Why?

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced? 

Always the one I just finished.

13: What music/album are you currently listening to? 

Prefer spoken word and listen to Radio 4

14: What makes you happy? 

You are only as happy as your most unhappy child.

15: What are your favourite films? 
Lord of the Rings Trilogy

16: Favourite place? 

Wildwood New Jersey

17: One or more artists you like? 

David Brown

18: What is your favourite word? 

Don’t be silly.

19: Professionally what is your goal? 

I have just achieved the goal of being listed in Who’s Who in Art. My next goal will be to get a piece into the RA.

20: What would your dream commission be? 

To create work for a solo show at the Minneapolis Institute of Art.

 

Image Copyright of Susan Lee Brown
  
Image Copyright of Susan Lee Brown
 

Leave a Reply

