Featured Artist : Judith Farr

20 Questions to Judith Farr (www.judith-farr.com).

1: Who are you? Judith Farr 

2: What is your background? I’m originally from south-east London with a Jewish mother and Irish father. I have three siblings. I’ve been living in rural Catalonia for the last 14 years.

3: Where were you born? I was born in London.

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words. Colour and mark making centred abstract adventures that seem to relay a profound sense of optimism. I build each piece in conjunction with many others and try to respond as openly as I can to their demands. 

5: How has your practice changed over time? I spent a lot of time not knowing what to do until suddenly I did and now it’s my mission to paint as much as possible. 

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in? I like materials that I don’t know how to use, I find this adds an element of surprise to my process.

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what? My work is quite process centred so there are visual themes I tend to pursue like colour and, spots and grids. However I am also trying to break down a need to control the outcome so that might be a theme.

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist? I am a mum of two which is a major occupation, I am also studying an MFA. I have been an Esol teacher for many years and a translator. 

9: What research do you do for your art? I read art theory that seems relevant, interviews with other artists, I go for walks, I look at a lot of paintings online and go to exhibitions when I can. Currently I’m interested in intuition and how to listen to my inner voice more. I also find yoga to be very interesting and a great way to connect with my inner voice. 

10: What makes you angry? This is a difficult question because I have anger issues. Anger comes from pain and frustration. When I’m over worked and stressed pretty much everything makes me angry. Politically I’m pretty much beyond anger at the injustice going on in the world, but I think we’re living through a massive revolution that could potentially change everything for the better.

11: What is your favourite colour? All of them!

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced? My latest favourite is a small piece made up of simple shapes and few colours, it just came together without a lot of stress. It doesn’t look like I made it, I guess.

13: What music/album are you currently listening to? I like Motown a lot but right now all I have is an ancient radio. My daughter joins me in the studio more now during the summer so she chooses the music.

14: What makes you happy? Dancing and painting with my daughter. Beer also makes me happy.

15: What are your favourite films? Frozen, LOTR, Amilie, Spirited Away. 

16: Favourite place? where I am right now. A small village called Maials 40km from where we live during the year. This is our summer home and it’s full of surprises. 

17: One or more artists you like? Patrick Heron, Howard Hodgkin, Jenni Rope, Albert Irvin to name a few. 

18: What is your favourite word? Mushroom 

19: Professionally what is your goal? To open up and let the walls down, and feel like the sky’s the limit. Until I do this I won’t have much hope of becoming professional. 

20: What would your dream commission be? Maybe a book/show made in collaboration with other artists, where we get to spend time together in some inspiring location. An ongoing collective of artists experimenting together would be great. 

   

Image Courtesy Judith Farr

 
Image Courtesy Judith Farr
  
Image Courtesy Judith Farr

  
Image Courtesy Judith Farr
 
 

One thought on “Featured Artist : Judith Farr

Leave a Reply

