Featured Artist : Enzo Marra

20 Questions to Enzo Marra 

(http://www.hooliganartdealer.com/hooliganartdealer/Enzo_Marra.html)

1: Who are you?

I am Enzo Marra.

2: What is your background?

I am the eldest child of two southern Italian parents, who arrived in Bournemouth in the early 1970’s.

3: Where were you born?

I was born at The Royal Victoria Hospital in Boscombe, that unfortunately is no more, and has been replaced by something less graceful and much much bigger.

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words.

I explore concepts which relate to the art world via mostly drawn and painted methods. Using the presence of the observer within gallery spaces, as one of many vehicles of communication I expand upon as subject matter permits.

5: How has your practice changed over time?

I feel it has loosened and become more immediate, as my confidence and deeper insight into my practise has grown over the years.

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in?

I always prefer oils if space and time permits, but am finding I am willing to also work with enamels and water based pigments, as they can generate a finish and feel that oils will not permit.

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what?

I pursue a number of different avenues through the initial theme I entered into a number of years ago. As part of my art world exploration I have produced works that deal with observers in galleries, the hanging of works, auctions, studios, the artists themselves, the use of the palette and how it can be viewed as a finished work in its own right, gallery floor plans, the ways I can consider it from different angles are slowly opening up in a multitude of different ways.

8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist?

I have been employed in too many different professions, bar work, off licences, pathology porter, gallery invigilation, receptionist at a massage parlour, a very very short stint at McDonald’s, amongst others I can’t fully recall.

9: What research do you do for your art?

I do research via the Internet, books, magazines and newspapers, taking my own photographic images, stockpiling potential images to work from in the future. The test is whether the resulting art work lives up to the potential I first see in it when I discover it.

10: What makes you angry?

I rarely get truly angry so that is a difficult question to honestly answer, but I can get dejected as all artists do. As long as I have the luxury of interacting with pigments on a near daily basis, such extremes dissipate with each brush stroke building up over support.

11: What is your favourite colour?

Currently it is green, it does change often though. Within a few days it could easily switch to red.

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced?

I would have to say it is the initial artist based oil that lead to everything I do now. It is a tiny tonal image of Joseph Beuys, which still hangs in the corridor of my flat as a constant reminder.

13: What music/album are you currently listening to?

At the moment I am switching between Radiohead and Bach, they seem to compliment each other quite well.

14: What makes you happy?

That moment when you complete an art work that seems to finish itself, which seems natural and honest and everything you wish you could ever rationally achieve, but which reality refuses to permit you even a sideways glance usually.

15: What are your favourite films?

I like darker and slower cinematic experiences, like Better Things by Duane Hopkins and the oeuvres of Michael Haneke and Andrei Tarkovsky.

16: Favourite place?

When I am working it has to be my studio, if I am interested in merely looking I would like to revisit Berlin and Amsterdam as each has a varied creative culture, which contrasts well to the London streets strewn with galleries, which monthly announce more sights that must be seen.

17: One or more artists you like?

The term like would be an understatement for my appreciation of Frank Auerbach, I can’t wait for his soon Tate Britain show and am looking forward to many repeat visits.

18: What is your favourite word?

I don’t have a favourite word, but I do have a favourite phrase which is ‘Ambition is Critical’, as it seems to embody the drive that keeps projecting me from work to work, and into competition for each potential advertised or created opportunity.

19: Professionally what is your goal?

I like most artists would love to be offered a Tate Gallery solo show, those type of opportunities are only offered to the few, and I wouldn’t mind being one of those few.

20: What would your dream commission be?

I would love to have the opportunity to do some large scale gallery interiors, potentially as part of a residency at a gallery or museum of reputation.

 

Image courtesy of the artist.
 
See more from Enzo at : http://www.hooliganartdealer.com/hooliganartdealer/Enzo_Marra.html

Leave a Reply

