Featured Artist : Josie Jenkins

20 questions interview : Josie Jenkins (www.josiejenkins.co.uk)

1: Who are you? 

 Josie Jenkins

2: What is your background? 

 I come from Skidby near Hull, I studied Fine Art at Norwich School of Art and I’ve lived in Hull and Nottinghamshire and now Liverpool.

3: Where were you born? 

Beverley hospital, East Riding of Yorkshire

4: Explain your work in up to 40 words. 

My paintings explore the way we shape the landscape in which we live. I paint the evidence of the existence of mankind within the landscape. 

 5: How has your practice changed over time? 

I’ve started thinking a lot more about what I paint and about how it can influence and educate people as well as making a good painting.

6: Do you have a favourite medium to work in? 
Oils are my favourite

7: Do you pursue any themes? If so what? 

I paint wastelands, abandoned places and the edgelands between city and countryside, presenting the impact of human interference upon our natural landscape and nature’s subsequent effect on the man-made. Sometimes I portray the consequence of heavy industry or explore how the discarded materials found in scrap heaps evidence the way we live our modern lives.

 8: What other jobs have you done/do you do other than being an artist?  

I work with homeless people in accommodation services and with people who have housing related issues in their own tenancies. I also teach a craft called quilling.

9: What research do you do for your art? 

 I visit places for inspiration and take photographs as a visual aid. I went to China for 3 months not long ago. I also like to see as many exhibitions as possible.

10: What makes you angry? 

 UKIP

11: What is your favourite colour? 

Green

12: What is your favourite piece that you have produced? 

A painting called ‘Container Island’

13: What music/album are you currently listening to? 

The Staves (they are very good!)

14: What makes you happy? 

Gelato

15: What are your favourite films? 

I like Amilie a lot it’s a lovely film but my favourite is Beasts of the Southern Wild, except I’ve only seen it once as I’m worried I won’t like it as much the second time.

16: Favourite place? 

Liverpool of course. But also Shanghai, though not for more than a few days. 

17: One or more artists you like? 

Walter Sickert, Carel Weight, David Hockney, Martin Greenland, Matthias Weischer, Sheila Fell, Paul Collinson, Edward Burtynsky, John Bratby, Patrick Caulfield…..

18: What is your favourite word? 

Shampoo

19: Professionally what is your goal? 

To be able to just paint and have minions to do the admin for me.

20: What would your dream commission be? 

A really really big painting that I currently could not make because it wouldn’t fit in my studio.

Image courtesy of the artist.
Leave a Reply

